Caribbean Premier League News

By espncricinfo   Published: August 9, 2016  
A rematch from Wednesday's first Caribbean Premier League playoff qualifier between the regular season's top two teams quickly turned into an uncontested romp for Jamaica Tallawahs, who rampaged past Guyana Amazon Warriors by nine wickets to claim their second CPL title on Sunday night at Warner Park. For Warriors, it was a flat effort that left them runner-up for the third time in four CPL seasons, twice to Tallawahs.

Warriors were the regular season table-toppers and beat Tallawahs in two of their prior three meetings, including by four wickets in Wednesday's opening playoff match. On Sunday, however, they stumbled badly after being sent in by Chris Gayle at the toss and were bowled out for a franchise record low total of 93 in just 16.1 overs. Warriors never won a game while batting first in 2016, and lost all three games in which they batted first, with two of those losses coming against Tallawahs.

Jamaica Tallawahs 95 for 1 (Gayle 54, Walton 25*, Emrit 1-13) beat Guyana Amazon Warriors 95 (Tanvir 42, Imad 3-21, Williams 2-12, Shakib 2-25) by nine wickets

Scorecard and ball-by-ball details